Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission Annual General Meeting 2:30 p.m. Monday, January 14, 2019

Gallery B, TCU Place Saskatoon, SK

ATTENDANCE:

Present: 20 registered producers

40 guests

Chair: Shane Stokke Secretary: Wayne Thompson

CALL TO ORDER:

Shane Stokke, Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

The scrutineer, Glenn Payne, was asked if quorum for the meeting was present, yes.

Directors were introduced.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA:

The agenda was reviewed as circulated.

MOTION: Brett Halstead, seconded by Jordon Hillier, that the agenda be adopted as presented.

CARRIED

2018 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES:

The minutes from the January 8, 2018 annual general meeting were circulated to the attendees.

MOTION: Jim Wickett, seconded by Zenneth Faye, that the minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting minutes be adopted as presented.

CARRIED

BUSINESS ARISING:

There was not any business arising.

CHAIR REPORT:

Shane Stokke reported on the activities of SaskFlax for the past year.

MOTION: Blair Goldade, seconded by Erwin Hanley, that the chair's report be accepted as presented.

CARRIED

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT

Wayne Thompson reported on the activities of SaskFlax for the past year.

MOTION: Nancy Johns, seconded by Trent Richards, that the executive director's report be accepted as presented.

CARRIED

2018 RESOLUTIONS REPORT

Wayne reported on the activities for the resolutions from the 2018 Annual General Meeting.

Resolution – Saskatchewan Provincial PST on Insurance Premium
The Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission wrote a letter to the newly elected
Premier of Saskatchewan, Scott Moe, requesting the removal of PST on Insurance
Premiums for agriculture. The PST was removed in the 2018 Provincial budget.

Resolution – Railway Costing Review

The Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission leveraged it membership with the Grain Growers of Canada to ensure the federal government was aware of the concerns of flax producers and the expectation that a railway costing review should be initiated.

RESULTS OF 2018 DIRECTOR ELECTION

Wayne reported on the 2018 election of directors. There were three positions open in 2018. The nomination process closed on September 14, 2018 at noon. Three nominations were received. Jordon Hillier, Patricia Lung, and Scott Sefton were acclaimed to the director position on the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission Board. Each director may serve a four-year term.

FINANCE:

Presentation of 2018/19 Budget

Shane Stokke presented the budget for the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission.

Presentation of the July 31, 2018 audited statements.

Michael Fairbrother of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP presented the audited statements for the 2016/17 fiscal year. No concerns or questions were raised from the floor.

APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR:

Shane Stokke recommends that PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP be chosen as the auditor for 2018/19.

MOTION: Dave Sefton, seconded by Jordon Hillier, that PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP be appointed as auditor for 2018/19.

CARRIED

APPOINTMENT OF AUDIT CHAIR FOR SASKFLAX:

MOTION: Brent Johnson, seconded by Greg Sundquist, that Nancy Johns be appointed as Audit Chair for 2018/19.

CARRIED

RESOLUTIONS:

There were not any resolutions received submitted prior to the Annual General Meeting or brought forward from the floor at the Annual General Meeting.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

Dave Sefton and Erwin Hanley both termed out on the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission Board. Dave served 17 years on the Board and Erwin served 10. Dave and Erwin's contribution to the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission were acknowledged with a presentation.

NEW BUSINESS:

None.

Norm Hall adjourned the Annual General Meeting at 3:15 p.m.