Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission


2022 SaskFlax Board Elections:


The Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission (SaskFlax) nomination for directors is open.

Nominations will close at 4pm (CST) on Friday, September 16, 2022.

There are five Board positions open. Three positions are for four-year terms and two positions are for two-year term. The terms start in 2023 after the Annual General Meeting in January.

All registered producers of flax are elgible to run for the board.

  1. To be nominated you need to fill out and return the nomination form.  The three flax growers nominating the nominee must also be registered flax growers. The nomination form needs to be accompanied with a biography of the nominee.

Click here for the nomination form.

  1. If your flax is not sold under your individual name you also need to fill out the Designated Representative Certificate.

Click here for the DRC form

The forms are to be returned to the SaskFlax Returning Officer:

By mail: SaskFlax Returning Officer

c/o Agriculture Council of Saskatchewan Inc.

2335 Schuyler Street Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7M 5V1

By fax:  306-975-6850

By email:

As a SaskFlax board member the responsibilities include:

  • Approximately nine Board meetings per year
  • Board meetings take place by internet video and in-person. Quality internet will be important.
  • Typical time commitment of a Director ranges from 21 to 53 days depending on the Director’s involvement in other committees
  • The four-year terms allow for the possibility of being re-elected twice, for a maximum of three consecutive full terms
  • The two-year terms will complete currently open terms and have the possibility to be re-elected for two more consectutive terms.
  • Directors are compensated.

For more information contact Wayne Thompson, Executive Director at 306-664-1901 or


If more than five nominations are received, an election will be held. If an election is necessary it will open at 9am on November 1 and close on November 30 at 4pm. Information about voting will be sent by Canada Post prior to November 1. Election results will be shared after the election closes and at the Annual General Meeting in January.